Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...

Kelly Barendt

Kelly BHi everyone, my name is Kelly Barendt. I'm 26 years old and just moved to my own apartment in Columbus, Ohio. I was diagnosed with FA at 18, just weeks before high school graduation. I currently do remote freelance work, and the rest of my time is filled with taking care of my health, both physically and mentally. I try to work out every day (key word is try...). I love seeing a personal trainer, practicing Pilates, and going for walks in the sun. I'm fully dependent on a rollator and sometimes use a wheelchair for long distances.


FA is awful, but that doesn't mean my life has to be like that, as well. Of course, there challenges and rough days, but overall, I truly believe it's possible to live a meaningful life, full of love, happiness, and passion.

In 2017, I started a blog, 'My Darling Life with FA' to share some of my experiences living with this rare disease. It has since become my passion project and a place to share my message of leading a fulfilling life despite challenges. It's also a wonderful creative outlet, where I write, practice photography and graphic design, and connect with other like-minded individuals. Here, you can find things like the story of my diagnosis, a life-changing mobility aid, and my unrelenting hope for a cure for FA. xx




Archived in
  the Ambassador Blog

Site Map     Privacy Policy      Service Terms      Contact      Charity Navigator