Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...

Robbi Van Schoick

My name is Robbi Van Schoick and I am 33. I live in Athens, Georgia with my parents. My younger sister, Katie, lives in Atlanta with her husband. I am a proud aunt of two nieces.  I have had FA for most of my life--since age 6. Growing up, I chose to shelter myself from learning about my disease, and in fact, I had never met anyone else with FA until my middle sister Becca was diagnosed at age 12.Robbi

I am a native Texan, and my family moved a fair amount, due to my dad's job in pharmaceuticals for animal health. I really like living in Athens, home of the University of Georgia.

I received both my bachelors in psychology and masters in public health at UGA, and I am still involved there. Specifically, I volunteer as a co-teacher of a seminar on communication with people with disabilities, which is right up my alley. I teach with a professor in kinesiology, a subject I do not pretend to know a thing about. I really enjoy our class, and since we do some of the grading online, it is easy for me to engage. I teach only in the fall and *never* before noon!

 

For a few years, I have been giving lectures about FA Awareness at UGA. I gave my 30th talk in 2013, and I plan to give many more.

Despite being quite physically limited--I have used a wheelchair for 20 years--I still love to be out and about, and I try to stay busy. Thankfully, my heart is in great shape, though. Like many women my age, I hope to meet someone and marry. Of course, treatment and a cure for FA would be stellar, too!

Robbi

 
 

SHARE

FacebookTwitterLinkedInYoutube
Science C.jpg

 

Archived in
  the Ambassador Blog


Site Map     Privacy Policy     Service Terms     Log-in     Contact     Charity Navigator