Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...

Meet the Community

You are not alone. The entire FA community, also known as the FAmily, is taking this journey with you. Meet a few of our dynamic people with FA below.  New Meet the Community interviews are posted every Monday, so be sure to visit often.  Please e-mail info@curefa.org if you would like to be interviewed for a Meet the Community post.
 

FARA Ambassadors

The FARA Ambassadors are a group of people living with FA who are committed to supporting FARA in the search for a treatment and cure. They represent the community by speaking at events, meeting pharmaceutical partners, giving media interviews, and more.

Meet the FAmily!


Neal Ramer

Neal RamerName: Neal Ramer

Age: 41

Where do you call home? Tippecanoe, IN

Education degree(s): 8th grade

Do you have children? No

What's a typical day for you? Typically, I sleep, eat, take care of my dogs, eat, sleep... rinse, repeat. I am a dog breeder.

How long have you known you are living with FA? (When and how were you diagnosed?) I was diagnosed at 18 with Charcot-Marie Tooth (CMT) because there was no genetic test. Then when I was 23, I was correctly diagnosed with FA by a blood test.

Emery Fitzhugh

Emery FName: Emery Fitzhugh

Age: 20 years old

Where do you call home? Texas

Education degree(s): High school degree

Who do you live with? I'm single and I live with my parents

What's a typical day for you? A typical day for me is watching Netflix, eating, and cleaning. I love drawing, painting, and taking care of my 3 dogs, which are a black lab, a Chihuahua, and a mix. I also love watching musical movies and watching Youtube.

How long have you known you are living with FA? I knew something was wrong at 7 but was diagnosed at 8.

The Batta Family

Batta Family 3Name: Ryanne Batta

Age: 15

Where do you live? Watertown, SD

Education/Grade: I'm a sophomore in high school.

Who do you live with? I live with my parents, my brother Sam when he's home from college, our dogs Buddy and Solar; Solar is my service dog.

What is a typical day for you? During the school year, I go to some classes at the high school and also work from home for other classes. In the summer, I like to spend my days at home by the lake.

Erin Wooten

Erin WootenName: Erin Wooten

Age: 26 years old

Where do you call home: Carthage, Mississippi

How long have you known you are living with FA? I started having early onset problems when I was about 12 years old but I didn't get a correct diagnosis until I was 19 years old. I started off thinking I was just a clumsy kid. About age twelve, I couldn't even walk a semi-straight line. I went from one side of the hallway at school to the other like a ping pong ball. I also could no longer walk up or down stairs without help. My legs just felt unexplainably funny. I started seeing doctors shortly after. With those symptoms, I was diagnosed with inner ear problems.

Kim Ayres

Kim AyresName: Kim Ayres

Age: 49

Where do you call home? Maple Grove, MN

Education degree(s): 2 Year Associates Degree

Who do you live with? I live with my husband Bob. Our 3 kids are now young adults. Gunnar is 24, Carson is 23 and Madison is 21.

How long have you known you are living with FA? I was diagnosed in 2011 but showed signs as early as 2004.

Are there any others with FA in your family? Yes, my younger brother Bill.

Page 4 of 34

SHARE

FacebookTwitterLinkedInYoutube

 

Archived in
  the Ambassador Blog


Site Map     Privacy Policy     Service Terms     Log-in     Contact     Charity Navigator