Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...

Meet the Community

You are not alone. The entire FA community, also known as the FAmily, is taking this journey with you. Meet a few of our dynamic people with FA below.  New Meet the Community interviews are posted every Monday, so be sure to visit often.  Please e-mail info@curefa.org if you would like to be interviewed for a Meet the Community post.
 

FARA Ambassadors

The FARA Ambassadors are a group of people living with FA who are committed to supporting FARA in the search for a treatment and cure. They represent the community by speaking at events, meeting pharmaceutical partners, giving media interviews, and more.

Meet the FAmily!


Molly Lawson

MollyLawson1Name: Molly Lawson

Age: 19

Where do you call home? Arizona

Education (degree(s): I'm sophomore in college and trying to get my doctorate degree

What is your relationship status? Who do you live with? I have been going out with my boyfriend for 7 months, but we don't live together. I live with three good girl friends by our college campus.

What's a typical day for you? My routine revolves around getting to class. I get up in the morning, get myself ready, and bus to school. My evening are more fun when I get to see my friends and go out.

How long have you known you are living with FA? I was diagnosed when I was 10. 

Tiffany Rose Gambill

TiffanyGambill1Name: Hi, I’m Tiffany Rose Gambill.

Age: I am 25, I’ll be 26 on December 21st.

Where do you call home? I live in Bridgewater, Massachusetts, currently with my parents, but we are building a wheelchair friendly apartment onto the house, so that will be my little humble abode.

Education (degree(s): I graduated The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth with a bachelor’s degree in Women Studies. While in college I also went to a community college near home where I got certified in Sign Language I-V and certification in Veterinary Assistance. Both certificates, of which I never used. I also did the Bridgewater Citizens Police Academy, which was very interesting, I learned a lot, bonus I got to see 3 people tazed! After college I did many trainings in Domestic Violence, which led to a semester in Washington DC at The Washington Center and an internship at Becky’s Fund which helped with victims of DV. When I came home I interned at the Plymouth County District Attorney’s office. Then in September of 2014 I got a job in my town at a company that trades precious metals around the world. I have been there a little over a year. I work part time, which is really helpful for my energy levels. At work I do a lot of filing, data entry and now I help also in the HR department. So nothing to do with my education background, but they continue to pay me so I’m not complaining! I do still love to continue my education, knowledge is a powerful recourse for everything so why wouldn’t you want to learn as much as possible? 

Linda Johnson

LindaJohnson1Name: Linda Johnson

Age: 53

Where do you call home? Cazenovia, NY (Central New York)

Education (degree(s): BS Industrial Engineering

What is your relationship status? Do you have children? I am a wife and mom of two kids, ages 21 and 18.

What's a typical day for you? (i.e. daily routine, employment, student, stay at home parent, etc…) A typical weekday for me includes exercising, showering, feeding the animals (dog, cat, rabbit, fish), mowing the lawn (unless it’s covered in snow!), cooking, laundry, sending a care package to the kids, organizing/cleaning (I think I’m a little OCD!) … typical stay at home stuff! There is no typical weekend for me … traveling, dinner with friends, company over, etc. … it’s all good! Whether it’s a weekday or weekend, there is always time for a 25-minute nap followed by a cup of coffee! :)

Rachel Conger

RachelConger1Name: Rachel Conger

Age: 19

Where do you call home? Wilmington, Ohio

Education (degree(s): I graduated from Wilmington High School in 2014. I'll be starting art classes soon.

What is your relationship status? I'm happily engaged to my love, Eric. April 30th 2016 is the big day!

What's a typical day for you? Wake up and do what needs to be done. 

Dillon Head

DillonHead1Name: Dillon M. Head

Age: 19 almost 20 (December 19)

Where do you call home? This is difficult because my parents are divorced and I’m close with all of my family members. However, I live with my mom and my stepdad. We are currently in the process of selling and moving to a home that was built handicapped accessible. It is all one level and is a bigger house and will be easier to get around because it doesn’t have stairs. I live in New York but I have family and friends who I count to be family; so I have to say my home is the world!

Education (degree(s): I graduated high school in 2014, which feels like forever ago already. I went to a small town school, which had 250 students from Pre-K to 12. Brookfield Central School is where I have my roots planted, but my tree is still growing. My future goals are honestly possibly never going to be easy to stick to just one thing. I have what they call: Peter Pan Syndrome, which has been a blessing. I’m currently enrolled in the New York Institution of Photography, which is all online. It has been great and I have been learning a lot more. Photography is one of my passions and will always be one with or without FA. One of my other goals is to get a degree in some sort of education. I love kids, but elementary school is not my calling. Teaching 7-12 or even higher education is more what I’m leaning toward. In January, I will be going back to college in Syracuse, New York; SUNY Onondaga Community College. It has not been easy, but I will do it and encourage anyone else with FA to go, if you're able to. When it comes to FA, it can add stress, depression and frustration to anyone on a “good day”. However, I don’t want it to “take over my life” anymore and I’m done having that feeling. It’s easy to get, especially if you just stop pushing and giving up. YES! FA is not easy to deal with for anyone, but I have come to realize that it can’t control me or my future. I have gained a lot more HOPE over the past 6 months then I have had the past year! 

Page 37 of 47

SHARE

FacebookTwitterLinkedInYoutube

 

Archived in
  the Ambassador Blog


Site Map     Privacy Policy      Service Terms      Contact      Charity Navigator