Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...

Meet the Community

You are not alone. The entire FA community, also known as the FAmily, is taking this journey with you. Meet a few of our dynamic people with FA below.  New Meet the Community interviews are posted every Monday, so be sure to visit often.  Please e-mail if you would like to be interviewed for a Meet the Community post.

FARA Ambassadors

The FARA Ambassadors are a group of people living with FA who are committed to supporting FARA in the search for a treatment and cure. They represent the community by speaking at events, meeting pharmaceutical partners, giving media interviews, and more.

Meet the FAmily!

Monique Gutz

Monique GutzName: Monique Gutz

Age: 32

Where do you call home? I live in Blumenau, in the south and subtropical area of Brazil, where the climate transitions between the predominantly tropical climate of my country and the most temperate climate of Argentina.

Education: I finished high school

Which contribution has FA had to you or your career? FA taught me to value little things, small achievements and to have confidence in the future.

What is a typical day for you? My days are always very busy. I go to physical therapy 4 times a week, plus weekly phono-therapy, occupational therapy and psychologist. I also visit constantly my cardiologist and other medical specialists.

Ben Tyler

Ben Tyler 2Name Ben Tyler

Age 35

Where do you call home? Alton, IL (across the river from St. Louis, MO)

Education degree(s): Bachelors of Science in Nursing, I am an RN. I am not able to work as a bedside nurse due to FA. Fortunately, there are many areas I am able to work. I am in Case Management at Barnes Jewish Hospital in St. Louis.

Giovanna Moreschi

Giovanna 2Name: Giovanna Moreschi.

Age: I am 20 years old.

Where do you call home? São Paulo – SP – Brazil

What are your educational goals? I study courses in psychology. Even though I have FA and many difficulties, I do not give up and do not stop believing that I will build my career!

Who do you live with? I live with my parents and my two sisters.

Kay Krankel

Kay KrankelName: Kay Krankel

Age: 83

Where do you call home? Currently, my home is a skilled nursing facility in Scranton, PA.

Education: I made it through one year of college when I got the job I wanted.

Who do you live with? I have been married for 60 yrs. We have five children and sixteen grandchildren.

What's a typical day for you? Currently, a typical day for me includes lots of reading, playing bingo, and occupational therapy. Every other week, facility-sponsored entertainers visit.

Jordan Murphy

Jordan MurphyName: Jordan Michael Patrick Murphy

Age: 25

Where do you call home? Chuluota, FL

Education: High School Diploma, some college

What's a typical day for you? A typical day for me includes various appointments, personal care activities, and, truthfully, at this point, much daydreaming.

How long have you known you are living with FA? I was diagnosed at age twelve but was symptomatic at a much younger age. It took a long time to diagnose. We were lead to believe my flat feet were to blame for my un-coordination. I've known for thirteen years.

Page 11 of 43




Archived in
  the Ambassador Blog

Site Map     Privacy Policy     Service Terms     Log-in     Contact     Charity Navigator