Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...


Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board serves as advisors on FARA’s scientific research priorities, goals and programs as well as medical issues that arise from FA and treatment implementation.

Key Responsibilities:

  • A commitment to FARA’s mission; advancing treatments & improving clinical outcomes for individuals with FA.
  • A commitment to helping FARA grow and nurture the FA research community.
  • To promote collaboration in the FA research community.
  • Reviewing grants and making funding recommendations
  • Assessing gaps in research portfolio and making recommendations for new opportunites/research directions


Dr. Bronya Keats
Emeritus Professor of Genetics, LSU Health Sciences Center
Australian National University
FARA, Chief Research Officer

Dr. Giovanni Manfredi
Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience
Weill Cornell Medical College
FARA, Chief Scientific Officer


Dr. Sanjay Bidichandani Scientific Director
Section Head of Genetics, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
Department of Pediatrics
FARA, Board of Directors

Dr. Joy Cavagnaro
Access BIO

Dr. Sidney Hecht
Director, Biodesign Center for Bioenergetics
Arizona State University

Dr. Grazia Isaya
Professor of Biochemistry/ Molecular Biology and Pediatrics
Mayo Clinic Rochester

Dr. Arnulf Koeppen
Professor of Neurology and Pathology
Albany Medical College

Dr. David Lynch
Professor of Neurology
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia / University of Pennsylvania

Jane Larkindale, D.Phil.
Executive Director
Duchenne Regulatory Sciences Consortium at
Critical Path Institute (C-Path)

Dr. James McArthur
Scientific Director
Chief Scientific Officer, Founder
Cydan Development

Dr. Marek Napierala
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
University of Alabama

Dr. Mark Payne
Professor of Pediatrics (Cardiology)
Indiana University School of Medicine

Dr. Helene Puccio
Department of Neurobiology and Genetics
Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology

Dr. Bernard Ravina
Chief Medical OfficerPraxis Medicines
FARA, Board of Directors

Dr. James Rusche
Sr. Vice President Research and Development
Repligen Corporation

Dr. Benjamin Schwartz
Director, Disc Res R&D

Dr. Robert Wilson
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Pennsylvania